Regional Architecture Competition

We received an e-mail recently about an upcoming architecture competition.  It’s sponsored by WoodWorks and open to architects, engineers, and designers in Illinois, Wisconsin, and Minnesota.  Here’s the details from the WoodWorks web site:

WoodWorks North-central is accepting nominations for nine wood design awards, which will be presented on September 8, 2010 at the Wood Solutions Fair in Chicago. 

Eligibility and Nomination Forms 
To be eligible, designers, firms and/or projects must be based in Minnesota, Illinois or Wisconsin. Applications must be received by August 1, 2010. Click here for eligibility criteria and nomination forms.


There is no cost to nominate a project or individual for a WoodWorks Wood Design Award. Multiple submissions are encouraged.

Award presentation

Awards will be presented on September 8, 2010 at the Wood Solutions Fair in Chicago. 

Enter in one or more of the following categories:

Institutional Wood Design
The healing and learning properties associated with a wood environment have been well documented. This award recognizes the benefits of wood in institutional applications such as schools, fire halls, hospitals, long-term care facilities, libraries, municipal buildings, and recreational facilities, which demonstrate wood’s strength, beauty, versatility, cost effectiveness and/or other qualities.

Commercial Wood Design
This category recognizes the creators of commercial projects that push the limits of wood design in offices, restaurants, stores, malls, industrial buildings and other public spaces. Nominations will be judged on the basis of showcasing wood’s qualities such as strength, beauty, versatility, and cost-effectiveness.

Multi-Family Wood Design 
This category honors the creators of new multi-family projects that push the limits of wood design and showcase qualities of wood such as strength, durability, beauty, versatility and cost-effectiveness. It covers a range of building types, including hotels, apartments, condominiums, duplexes, dormitories, affordable housing facilities and seniors’ residences. Special consideration will be given to projects that utilize wood as the dominant structural material.

Interior Beauty of Wood This category recognizes the extensive use of wood inside a non-residential structure. Consideration is given to the interior of buildings where wood products are used extensively in any variety of applications. This could include, but is not exclusive to, ceilings, soffits, wall surfaces, cabinetry, flooring, and other examples of fine finish carpentry.

Green Building
Wood contributes to a building’s high performance by reducing energy use and overall environmental impact, and making efficient use of resources. Nominations in the green building category will be judged on the basis of showcasing how wood contributed to some or all of these principles when applied in the building’s design and construction.

Innovative Wood Design
A new category this year, the Innovative Wood Design award will recognize creative and innovative approaches to the use of wood in building or structure design. The award will be presented to an individual or firm that has clearly excelled at “out-of-the-box” thinking, though traditional applications such as bridges, gazebos, boardwalks and recreational structures are eligible.

Traditional Use of Wood 
This category recognizes the innovative use of wood in buildings that traditionally feature wood in their design and construction, such as wineries, churches, clubhouses, lodges and out-structures. Buildings that push the limits of wood design will be favored, as will those that showcase one or more of wood’s qualities such as strength, beauty, versatility and cost-effectiveness.

Wood Behind the WallsThis category honors the creators of non-residential buildings that are structurally more than 90 percent wood-frame, that demonstrate innovation in terms of architectural design and function, and showcase wood’s strength, versatility, cost-effectiveness and/or other qualities. Projects nominated in the Institutional, Commercial or Traditional Use categories that meet the wood-frame criteria may also be nominated for this award.

This award recognizes engineers or engineering firms that regularly specify, design or build commercial, industrial and institutional projects using wood. It acknowledges individuals or firms that contribute to the selection of wood in a project, lead the way for future projects in wood and contribute to the creation of innovative wood structures.

Author: Editor

Editor founded the Chicago Architecture Blog in 2003, after a long career in journalism. He can be reached at

Share This Post On