Who’s Who at the Chicago Architecture Biennial


The first Chicago Architecture Biennial is rapidly approaching, and the organizers have just released a list of which firms from which countries will participate.  Check the list below for your favorite nation or company, as the case may be, and read the press release after.  Firms in bold are hometown heroes.

Chicago Architecture Biennial logo

  • Australia: otherothers / David Neustein & Grace Mortlock
  • Belgium: OFFICE / Kersten Geers David Van Severen
  • Brazil: RUA Arquitetos
  • Canada: Lateral Office
  • Chile: Pezo von Ellrichshausen
  • Chile: TOMA
  • China: OPEN Architecture/ Li Hu & Huang Wenjing
  • China: Rural Urban Framework
  • China: WAI Architecture Think Tank
  • Colombia: El Equipo de Mazzanti / Giancarlo Mazzanti
  • Colombia: Plan:b Arquitectos / Felipe Mesa & Federico Mesa
  • Denmark: Bjarke Ingels Group / BIG
  • Ecuador: Al Borde
  • France: Anne Lacaton & Jean-Philippe Vassal and Frederic Druot
  • France: Didier Faustino
  • France: LIST / Ido Avissar
  • France/Thailand: New-Territories/M4 / Francois Roche & Camille Lacadee
  • Germany: Kéré Architecture / Francis Kéré
  • Germany: Kuehn Malvezzi
  • Greece: Andreas Angelidakis
  • Indonesia/United Kingdom: Csutoras & Liando
  • Italy: studio Albori
  • Japan: Atelier Bow-Wow
  • Japan: junya.ishigami+associates
  • Japan: Onishimaki + Hyakuda Architects
  • Japan: Sou Fujimoto Architects
  • The Netherlands: Iwan Baan
  • The Netherlands: RAAAF
  • Nigeria/The Netherlands: NLÉ / Kunlé Adeyemi
  • Mexico: Frida Escobedos
  • Mexico: Pedro&Juana
  • Mexico: PRODUCTORA
  • Mexico: Santiago Borja
  • Mexico: Tatiana Bilbao S.C.
  • Pakistan: Yasmeen Lari / Heritage Foundation Pakistan
  • South Korea: Mass Studies / Minsuk Cho
  • South Korea: Moon Hoon
  • Spain: Carlos Bunga
  • Spain: MAIO
  • Spain/USA: Andrés Jaque/Office for Political Innovation
  • Thailand: Allzone/Rachaporn Choochuey
  • United Kingdom: Assemble
  • United States: ArandaLasch
  • United States: Bureau Spectacular / Jimenez Lai
  • United States: Design With Company
  • United States: Erin Besler Besler & Sons
  • United States: Indie Architecture + Paul Preissner Architects
  • United States: John Ronan Architects
  • United States: Johnston Marklee
  • United States: Marshall Brown Projects
  • United States: MOS / Michael Meredith and Hilary Sample
  • United States: Norman Kelley
  • United States: PORT
  • United States: SO-IL
  • United States: Studio Gang
  • United States/Spain: Lluís Ortega / Sio2arch
  • United States: UrbanLab
  • United States: Weathers
  • United States: Amanda Williams
  • United States: WORKac+ Ant Farm / Amale Andraos & Dan Wood, Chip Lord & Curtis Schreier
  • United States/Norway: Bryony Roberts
  • Vietnam: VTN / Vo Trong Nghia Architects
  • Zimbabwe/South Africa/United Kingdom: Studio [D] Tale


The largest survey of contemporary architecture in North America
CHICAGO (April 14, 2015) – The Chicago Architecture Biennial announced today a robust list of architecture firms and artists who will convene in Chicago this fall for the largest international survey of contemporary architecture in North America (Oct. 3, 2015–Jan. 3, 2016).

Over 60 studios—representing more than 30 countries, across 5 continents—were selected by Biennial Co-Artistic Directors Joseph Grima and Sarah Herda, who are supported by an advisory committee comprising David Adjaye, Elizabeth Diller, Jeanne Gang, Frank Gehry, Sylvia Lavin, Hans Ulrich Obrist, Lord Peter Palumbo, and Stanley Tigerman.

“The city of Chicago has left an indelible mark on the field of architecture, from the world’s first modern skyscraper to revolutionary urban designs,” said Mayor Rahm Emanuel. “That’s why there’s no better host city than Chicago for this rare global event. The Chicago Architecture Biennial offers an unprecedented chance to celebrate the architectural, cultural, and design advancements that have collectively shaped our world.”

The participants of the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial (listed on the following page) will present their unique architectural work as part of the Biennial exhibition, which will occupy the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as additional sites across the city: Millennium Park, City Gallery in the Historic Water Tower, 72 E. Randolph, and the Stony Island Arts Bank, the latest initiative of acclaimed Chicago artist Theaster Gates.

“Our goal is to create an exhibition and public program that is meaningful to both the public and architecture professionals,” said Herda. “The Biennial is an incredible opportunity to present experimental and provocative architectural projects and ideas in a very public platform, and in a city that continues to be an inspiration to architects across the world.”

Added Grima: “During our research, we have had conversations with hundreds of architects working in radically different cultural, social, and economic conditions. The Biennial is an occasion to explore the inspiring work that a new architectural generation is producing.”

A complete list of Biennial programming, special events, and symposia will be available in the coming months at www.chicagoarchitecturebiennial.org.


Author: Editor

Editor founded the Chicago Architecture Blog in 2003, after a long career in journalism. He can be reached at chicagoarchitectureinfo@gmail.com.

Share This Post On